How to measure the level of distraction or the portion of busyness? Honestly I can’t tell you that – because it is a personal level. For me I just found out. The last weeks I was just thinking and filling my head with ideas, plans and wishes, i was filling my schedule and the kids schedule to the last free spot for a good feeling, the feeling to use each minute of the day for anything. Sleep becomes rare, or at least sleep became restless, as I woke up even more tired in the morning. Coffee was my best friend but couldn’t carry me through the day without yawning throughout the day. 

Today I took the time for at least one hour off, I grabbed my kindle paperwhite and started reading one of my books I started reading months ago. And I tried to stand the other electronic distractions but couldn’t, because every now and then there was a new WhatsApp message, as soon as I unlocked the iPhone I continued to check Facebook after reading and answering WhatsApp. Last year I already told myself (and some friends) that I really need to work on reducing this social media and electronic devices. Ha, it’s an easy way to say, but a hard way to go – well for me. I know it’s not for everyone I mean, some are fine using the internet, smartphone and social media at just one time a day, not for me, my kids are showing that it’s way too much and I really feel ashamed! So today there is my new plan “less iPhone, less social media, less distraction” and more of God, Jesus, Holy Spirit and my family!!!

© antoinegeiger.com

I found this picture on Pinterest and well it makes visible what invisibly is happening with us using smartphones etc. 

How to change it?

„“Come to me all of you who are tired from the heavy burden you have been forced to carry. I will give you rest. Accept my teaching. Learn from me. I am gentle and humble in spirit. And you will be able to get some rest. Yes, the teaching that I ask you to accept is easy. The load I give you to carry is light.”“

‭‭Matthew‬ ‭11:28-30‬ ‭ERV‬‬

Right now I start to understand, that out of my strength I can’t change anything, especially not my stressful, over-busy-lifestyle…. I need to ask for help. Only God can help me through is son Jesus to be finally able to rest. 


To stop reacting scared or aggressive as soon as I spot these or similar signs for being unreachable or not fast enough on the mobile internet I have to find ways to get out of this thinking (with the helping Hand of God). Two days ago I started looking for an old Mobil phone – yes, exactly, not a smartphone a normal 1999er Mobil Phone, to switch off the distraction permanently. But this would be no solution for the long run. I had a Facebook break for over 2 years already and it was a relief – definetly, but not the answer to my quest. I need to get a healthy handling and timing for this time consuming things like Facebook, Instagram, Pinterest, Twitter, WhatsApp, so I can breathe in life and live life actually in real not online via iPhone. While thinking about this part “breathe” I’m listening to Jonny Diaz song Breathe .

Breathe – Jonny Díaz

So I need a plan, a structured one and a God-led one! Because otherwise I’m not able to succeed. So my planning is now 

  • Praying and asking God to lead me his way for a good and healthy time table to use the social media
  • Write down some schedule into my new Bullet Journal and check several days which one works out best
  • Stick to the perfect plan 
  • Last but not least I’m planning to leave off all distractions in June as I’m on special family leave for 3 weeks!

© Bullet Journal

C is my favorite, but I need practice and God’s help, definetly!

I know that with God watching over me, with Jesus by my side and with the leading of his Holy Spirit I will finally find rest! I’m so happy about it and looking forward to this! 

© Sarah

Thank you for taking time to read my story! God bless you ❤

Leave a Reply

