Calendar

© http://www.caspicards.com

 

A couple of weeks ago I had this question that was inside my heart for days. Last year I started wearing the Tichel and this was related to my jewish relation through Jesus Christ. About my journey to wear a headcover you can simply use the menu bar and click to jewish roots and then head covering. Since then a lot had happened, not surprisingly it led me to my question about the calendar right now. Living in Germany, we use the gregorian calendar – 2017, april 13th.
When I start reading about the origin and the jewish calendar, I start to build a more stronger root to my own origin.

The Jewish Calendar – הלוח העברי – ha-lu’ach ha-iwri, is a Lunisolar Calendar, means that it is aligned to the moon phase. While we start our new year in January, the jewish calendar usually begins in September or October with its first month Tishri.

The era used since the Middle Ages is the Anno Mundi epoch (Latin for “in the year of the world”; Hebrew  לבריאת העולם‎, “from the creation of the world”).
AM 5777 began at sunset on 2 October 2016 and will end at sunset on 20 September 2017.
see

The jewish day starts from sunset (start of “the evening”) to the next sunset. First this sounds really unusual, but as I read it, and double checked it in the bible, it sounds right. It is just another point of view. Same as the jewish day names, I don’t know why before there was no big interest, but I’m really glad that God brought me here to study and read a bit further. And it is so wonderful that with todays electronic ways you are able to read everything you want, double check it through the internet or even books within a few hours. For todays post I’m using Wikipedia and my Bible (book and iPhone app as well).

© my Bible

One day I was thinking about using the jewish calendar primarily, but then again I was asking myself how to combine both, as the gregorian calendar is the standard calendar right now. Besides jewish calendar studies I started to learn hebrew as well, this is a real challenge, besides Russian and Arabic this wonderful language is really inside my heart. I use Duolingo and first I used Babbel, while Babbel is really good too, it is used with a plan, monthly, quarterly, half year or yearly. It is still cheaper than a course in a language school, but then I found Duolingo where I can learn Russian and Hebrew – while there is still no Arabic or Aramaic whether on Babbel nor Duolingo. I started to learn some basics of Arabic on Maha’s YouTube Channel, she is lovely and it’s fun to learn any language with her!

Back to my main topic, how to combine both calendars? In my case, I’m starting slowly. First I did, I added the Jewish calendar to my iPhone calendar =

AM 5777 17 Nisan

 

And I made a calendar time table in one of my journal 🙂

© Blog Journal Jewish Calendar

Next ones will be the weekly days =

  1. Yom Rishon – יום ראשון‎ (abbreviated יום א׳‎), meaning “first day” [corresponds to Sunday] (starting at preceding sunset of Saturday)
  2. Yom Sheni – יום שני‎ (abbr. יום ב׳‎) meaning “second day” [corresponds to Monday]
  3. Yom Shlishi – יום שלישי‎ (abbr. יום ג׳‎) meaning “third day” [corresponds to Tuesday]
  4. Yom Reviʻi – יום רביעי‎ (abbr. יום ד׳‎) meaning “fourth day” [corresponds to Wednesday]
  5. Yom Chamishi – יום חמישי‎ (abbr. יום ה׳‎) = “fifth day” [corresponds to Thursday]
  6. Yom Shishi – יום ששי‎ (abbr. יום ו׳‎) meaning “sixth day” [corresponds to Friday]
  7. Yom Shabbat – יום שבת‎ (abbr. יום ש׳‎), or more usually Shabbat – שבת‎ meaning “rest day” [corresponds to Saturday]

Thank you for reading my blog posts and my thoughts.
May God bless you!

Leave a Reply

