Reading the Bible it is common to read about the Fasting, while the israelites had several days to do their fasting the most important day for Jewish people (even kids start at, girls 12 and boys 13 years) is the Yom Kippur on the 10. Tishri, it starts on 9. Tishri in the evening until the next evening. Usually it is a fasting of 25 hours, no food and no drink. The Yom Kippur is the highest holiday, this year it will be on the 30. September 2017 – starting on 29.in the evening.

Pesach

When Jesus went to the desert to fast for 40 days, he didn’t eat for 40 days and 40 nights –

„After Yeshua had fasted forty days and nights, he was hungry.“

‭‭Mattityahu (Mat)‬ ‭4:2‬ ‭CJB‬‬

Lately it is common to start fasting on march for 40 days not eating chocolate, sweets, meat, not drinking alcohol, some might stop smoking for this period of time, not watching the tv, the smartphone, the PlayStation/XBOX or related to these. Until Good Friday as this is the day when Jesus was sold out to the Israelites, judged to hang on the cross to pay for our sin.

John 10:9

On Thursday 06.04.17 (AM 5777 10 Nisan) I started my fasting. I started the evening before, not eating anything only drinking a lot water and tea, as I’m still occasionally breastfeeding my little one. I haven’t done fasting before, but somehow I had this wish and feeling deeply inside my heart to follow Jesus  example on how to fast. The first day I broke fasting at about 3pm, second day as well. Today I read that on Good Friday in strict traditional Lutheranism you break fasting at 3pm, as this is the time Jesus had fulfilled what saved our life’s, he gave his blood to cover our sin, and died on the cross. As today is Good Friday, I’m so thankful what Jesus had done for us, for me. His gift is more than precious, more than special. He gave what no one else gave, he put himself on my place while I was a sinner still, he loved me already and showed his love with taking my sin and paid the highest price, so that I should be free. Today I wish you a blessed day at home, or wherever you are with your family, your beloved ones, your friends and Jesus inside your heart! It doesn’t matter if you are already following Jesus or not, he took the Cross for YOU too, this is unconditional LOVE!!! 

May God give you his blessing in all you do today and the days after, that he might open your eyes but more than that to open your heart for his Holy Spirit, to receive him and walk with Jesus the straight path! 

Leave a Reply

