Stay cool

It is summer and the temperature rises high, the humidity is high as well, this indicates a potential lightning/thunder/raining combination. We will see, or at least maybe hear it later.

It is midnight here and I was thinking, whether to write one short quick post or rush into bed and try to get some hours of sleep. So you see I’m writing and enjoying and testing the blackberry keyboard. I have to admit that it is very comfy for someone who is typing a lot and who simply missed the real keyboard.
When I bought it 17 days ago some of my closest told me, that I wouldn’t stick to it a week.. because they know me well, and yes back then it was really difficult for me to change after being with apple for, we’ll let’s see and count, 8 years now. I started with the 3rd Generation the iPhone 3GS, and quickly I bought a new phone every year.. sure it’s nice, it’s optic and all the software inside is attracting and magically holding all its users. For me, at some point it was enough..
6 years ago I already tried to change and get away from iPhone but the PalmPre I was using and hoping to cope with the market wasn’t able to meet my preferences and needs. Then back in 2014 I tried Samsung, because this was and is the other big smartphone provider you can find. I had the new Samsung with a new mobile contract but was unhappy after a few days too.. so I sold this one as well and bought an iPhone until this one I was using latest the iPhone 6.
Yes of course, it is a good phone, it is more than a phone, it includes calls, messaging, mail, Internet, calendar, alarm, so many countless apps a few you really need and heaps of unnecessary stuff just to waste time – and this was and is the BIG point in my decision to leave apple, Samsung and all the others with heaps of apps no one really needs, but thinks they need to have because otherwise you’re out of everything and out of the world..
We all know that for some people the smartphone (no matter which company) is an addiction – well, I can tell what happened with me. Yes I was addicted to my phone, I was happy and so lucky to have this smart, super fast and stylish looking iPhone I was holding it the whole day, never leaving it around.
Sometimes I wanted to check the time – because I don’t have a watch anymore, but when unlocking the iPhone I was sliding through my screens, checking if there where any messages, or something interesting to see on IG, or Pinterest, or Twitter, or Facebook, or G+, or BBM, or Threema, or Whatsapp, or some more.. then I told myself to stop, because it’s too much again and while pushing the screen-lock-button I often realized that I didn’t even took a look on the time!! Arg, so I had to do the same thing again, but this time with high concentration to really just take a look at the time…

At one point I realized that the fact, that I was holding the iPhone and was waiting or typing a message made me aggressive or stressed and this affected my whole body and even worst my family!!
My son told me several times, that I’m at the iPhone way too often – and guess what? He was right!! I was! And this fact was a shock. Still not as easy as it should be, I tried to set myself a schedule about when to use and when to check the phone or some apps, but honestly, for me in my case I needed something more effective.
And this was the last day in June. Yes it was a good, a real good day, because while being on the way with my kids the iPhone hit the ground of the last train when we nearly arrived at our destination Bavaria. I was in shock and angry about myself because I was the one who dropped it!
At the end of the day I could arrange to use it for 2 calls, my parents and my sister in Christ, to tell them that we arrived safely and that my phone is total broken. Did you ever experienced, that your iPhone screen is so hard damaged that everytime you unlock it the screen things you touch it while you are not and then it starts to open apps, delete messages or notes and starts to write funny sms or whatsapp. Well at that point I locked it immediately but then it happened to block me completely, so I wasn’t able to unlock it with my numeric code, because the screen was half blind.. untouchable 😀

Can I tell you something? I had the best 3 weeks, that I truly enjoyed with rich conversations with other families, with my children and simply taking real pictures with my God given eyes! I can tell you, the time I spent with my kids was pure and a lot relaxed, because I wasn’t checking my phone every 10 min (at least). I was released, I was free, I was me – without the phone.
Sure something else was showing me, how addicted or lost we are if the phone where everything is written down and saved is is.
In my situation I wasn’t able to contact anyone by land line except my parents, no other numbers in mind. I was trying to remember birthday dates – but anyway wasn’t able to send greetings, or callings. I wasn’t able to remember the address of some friends to send postcards and well you can image the list continues.
So what did I thought of, when I was in this situation? First thing to do when you got home – buy an address book made out of paper – check, I did.
I haven’t start with the next point, the more important one, write down all addresses and phone numbers.

So what is different using the blackberry classic now instead of using either IPhone or Samsung?
On blackberry I receive the message, that I can use whatsapp until 31.12.17 after that it will close its service well I can change to the whatsapp10 app, I will try.
In general is it the lack of useless apps I can’t install, like too many messengers, like too many unnecessary Programms to work on pictures or other apps. Yes I know I could’ve simply just delete them on my IPhone, but hey be honest, how many of you actually do this? I always tried to delete as much as possible to minimize the trash and time-consuming ones, but it’s like hypnosis you seem to be not able to click the small x that’s shaking on the right top of the app.

I know, that in my situation I received help from my heavenly Father, who helped me to get away from the phone and the addiction. Because we can do all things through Jesus Christ!!
The BlackBerry brings me back to a normal phone usage, it’s ringing to indicate incoming calls and I (still) receive whatsapp messages for some more months. I can receive sms, mail and BBM, that’s enough.
And I’m using Twitter, trying to get more readers.. so this phone is keeping my concentration back on me – my life, my believe/faith and my family .
I thank you Lord!

And I thank you dear readers for taking your time reading my story!
Be richly blessed! Shalom

Leave a Reply

